About Titan Wrestling

A Tradition of Excellence

Team Accomplishments
  • 41 League Titles
  • 37 CIF Titles
  • 35 Masters Championships
  • 4 State Titles (1986, 1999, 2005, 2009)
  • 6 State Runner-up Finishes (1992, 2003, 2006, 2007, 2013)
  • 27 Top Five State Tournament Finishes
Individual Accomplishments
  • 16 State Champions
  • 18 State Runners-up
  • 139 State Medalists
  • 360 State Qualifiers
  • 160 Masters Champions
  • 270 CIF Champions
Poway High School wrestling began in the mid-1960’s under head coach Dennis Carrunchio. Wayne Branstetter arrived in 1978 as the fifth head coach. Under his leadership, the Titans have dominated San Diego high school wrestling for more almost four decades. Poway has won the California Interscholastic Federation (CIF) San Diego Section Division I Wrestling Championships 37 years in a row. In addition, they have won the CIF State Wrestling Team Championship four times (1986, 1999, 2005 and 2009) and have finished in the top five at the state tournament 27 times since the tournament was established in 1973 (only Clovis High School has more top five state tournament finishes). A powerhouse program such as Poway High School’s draws strength from exposing youth to wrestling at an early age. Founded in 1990, the Poway Slammers Kids Wrestling Club, sponsored by the Poway Wrestling Foundation, provides an opportunity for youth ages 6 to 14 to learn and compete in the sport of wrestling. Further, the Poway Unified School District is one of only a handful of school districts in California that offers wrestling at the middle school level. This early introduction to wrestling combined with outstanding coaching and extraordinary parental support has produced the tradition of excellence that is Poway Wrestling!